Meatloaf, meatloaf, meatloaf

Just before I went off to college my mom made me a recipe book filled with all my favourite mom recipes. The most used one is called “no touch” meatloaf because I hated touching any meat in fear of making myself sick. I have outgrown that fear but I haven’t outgrown the recipe. It works well with ground beef or venison and I’m sure it would work with any other ground meat (turkey, pork, chicken, moose) This recipe is quick and tasty.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground meat

1/2 package onion soup mix

1/2 cup quick oats 

1 egg, beaten

1 minced garlic clove or 1/2 tsp garlic powder or garlic plus

Directions:

Slit package of meat with knife and slide meat into large bowl.  Add all ingredients and mash together with potato masher until well mixed.  Spoon into loaf pan and press down making a ‘ditch’ in the middle. Bake at 350 degrees F until done (about 40 mins) Pour off excess grease around edges (watch it’s hot)

Mix 1 cup ketchup and 1/2 cup brown sugar together and pour into ditch of meatloaf. Bake another 10-15 mins. Let sit 10 mins before slicing (or it may look like my piece did) 

Enjoy!



P.s sorry about the amateur photos. Its really tasty I promise! 

Leave a Reply

